Fifth Annual Competition for the Smit-Lowenfeld Prize

March 20, 2015

The International Arbitration Club of New York
announces its Fifth Annual Competition for the SMIT-LOWENFELD PRIZE

The Smit-Lowenfeld Prize is awarded annually by the International Arbitration Club of New York to recognize the outstanding article published in the previous year on any aspect of international arbitration.  The Prize honors the late Hans Smit of Columbia Law School and Andreas F. Lowenfeld of New York University School of Law, both renowned scholars in international litigation and arbitration and well known arbitrators.

The 2013 Smit-Lowenfeld Prize was awarded to Stephen Fietta and James Upcher for their article, Public International Law, Investment Treaties and Commercial Arbitration: an emerging system of complementarity?, published in Arbitration International, Vol. 29, No. 2 (2013).

Only articles published in English during the year 2014 will be considered for the 2014 Smit-Lowenfeld Prize.  Articles should be submitted by email, in PDF format, to the International Arbitration Club of New York c/o Jennifer Permesly, at . Questions may be directed to Ms. Permesly by email or at +1-212-257-6941.

The deadline for receipt of submissions for the 2014 competition is April 30, 2015.

The winning article will be selected by a jury composed of members of the International Arbitration Club of New York.  The winner of the Smit-Lowenfeld Prize will receive an honorarium of US$2500 to be presented at a ceremony in New York.  Ms. Permesly will also accept articles published in the year 2015 on a rolling basis, which will be held for consideration until the 2015 competition is announced.